My Bubble of Privilege

Earlier today I was sitting at the dining table when I heard really loud airplanes flying in the sky.I know it’s for the Huntington Beach Air Show, but it sounded thunderous and menacing, making the whole house shake. I ran outside and saw the color of the sky was gloomy and dark, a perfect setting for a disaster. Nothing like I’ve ever heard before and I can say that because I’m privileged to live where I do. I started thinking about how it sounded in Syria because of the ongoing war and of course it’s something I can’t imagine or grasp because I’ve never felt or heard anything remotely close to the sound of war. It’s crazy to imagine the drastic contrast between Western lives and the lives of war victims. I asked my mom what it was like for her during the Vietnam War and she said at night was the worst time because people were bombing and shooting and the fear of being kidnapped in the middle of the night was always present. At night, I don’t worry about anything, I don’t hear anything scary, and I don’t fear if it’s my last night in my house. I’ve never had to think about it before, how safe I feel when I’m at home or how I can walk around the neighborhood at night. This was one of very few times I’ve stepped out of my self-absorbing bubble and actually considered how I live my life.I wish the media would talk about world events more often and our impact as a nation even if it’s a negative or positive effect. Who cares if Kim Kardashian did this or that? or if Trump tweeted this or that? There’s so much going on in the world that I don’t know because our main news stations which are owned by a monopoly of media giants don’t report it. I think it is important as citizens, at the minimum, to recognize the suffering around the world instead of basking in our privilege. It doesn’t even have to be about the world, there are injustices right under our noses.

Leave a Reply

