Mother Earth

“Education, if it means anything, should not take people away from the land, but instill in them even more respect for it, because educated people are in a position to understand what is being lost. The future of the planet concerns all of us, and all of us should do what we can to protect it. As I told the foresters, and the women, you don’t need a diploma to plant a tree.” -Wangari Maathai

Ever since I was young I was fascinated with nature and the environment. Wangari Maathai had been an inspiration to me with her efforts to promote democracy and combat environmental degradation. She was the first women to earn a doctorate in Africa, and inspires me to work hard and protect the Earth. Her autobiography, Unbowed, taught me about compassion and perseverance while demonstrating that a young woman (like me) can be powerful enough to impact the Earth. It revealed to me the privileges I take for granted like education and many more that the majority of girls in the rest of the world don’t get to even dream of.

 

 

Leave a Reply

